Saturday, 21 November 2015

SPOTLIGHT : RAMAYNA - THE GAME OF LIFE : STOLEN HOPE


BOOK COVER



BLURB


Have you ever felt that there should be a book that bridges the gap between the loyal, traditional approach to the Ramayana and the twisted, modern but exciting approach to the epic?
If yes, your search ends here. ‘Ramayana – The Game of Life’ is a series that attempts to present an authentic rendition of the Ramayana in an absolutely modern and riveting manner. This book promises to enlighten the loyalists and entertain the modernists. Written in an edu-taining manner, the books guarantee satisfaction; a book series that will be a life-time companion, effectively interspersing the Ramayana story with thought provoking contemporary life lessons. As you flip the pages of these books, one thought is sure to pass your mind; never has the Ramayana been so life applicable!
If you haven’t read the first two books in the series, it doesn’t matter. When you bite into a cake, it hardly matters where you begin. But in order to help the readers get familiar with the story, there is a summary of both the books. However, after reading this book if you do feel that you have gained much, then make sure you grab the first two books, because you have then missed so much more.
In the last few years, I have presented a series of seminars based on Ramayana – ‘The Game of Life, where I expand on the innumerable life lessons presented in the books with a lot of practical examples and anecdotes. These seminars have made the book even more user-friendly and relevant to the thousands who have heard them. These seminars are freely available on YouTube.
Stolen Hope takes ‘Ramayana – The Game of Life’ series to another level. Action-packed from page one, it promises to be a suspense thriller in its own unique way. The background stories in the book will make you wonder if you know the Ramayana at all. As is the trend in the last two books, there is no single hero in this book also. Every person is a hero in his or her own way since they have the power to arrest the attention of the reader in different ways, at different levels and during different situations. Isn’t that how life is?
The book begins and ends with Rama and Lakshmana’s clash with two humongous demons Viradha and Kabandha that defy all levels of imaginations. Hidden within their gigantic size are innocent stories that change our paradigm of judging irrational people around us. As Rama, Sita and Lakshmana walk through the jungles of Dandakaranya, they meet fascinating sages fearfully engaged in austerities. Their deformed bodies ripped apart by terrorist attacks of the rakshasas provoke Rama to take a solemn vow to rid the forest of the rakshasa menace. The most fascinating of these sages is Agastya who everyone in Dandaka forest considered a super-sage. Being a perfect blend of vigor, humor, courage, intelligence, innovation and most interestingly culinary expertise, Agastya’s guest appearance in this book is indeed a highpoint.
The thirteen years of exile proved to be thirteen years of exclusive privacy for Sita with Rama. Their love grows to a whole new dimension until something happens. It begins as a humorous tug of war but ends up in a bloody gruel. The brothers realize that rakshasas don’t take humor lightly. Surpanakha’s entry into their life was a disaster. Within a matter of few hours Rama had annihilated 14,000 soldiers of Surpanakha’s brothers Khara and Dhushana. With that one heroic act, Rama gives a fitting reply to a challenge that Sita had posed 13 years back and Sita gets her chance to undo a mistake that she had been repenting for long.
While Rama and Sita are immersed in each other, Ravana begins to mourn the death of his trusted allies who had ably protected the rakshasa outpost in Janasthana. Instigated by his now deformed sister seething with revenge, Ravana decides to kidnap Sita. The 18 curses on Ravana’s head begin to haunt him as he muses over his decision. This little known aspect of Ravana’s life may come as a total surprise to an uninformed reader, redefining the image of the Lankeshwara. The episode of the abduction of Sita highlights the uncommon sacrifice of two martyrs; Maricha who died proving his loyalty to Ravana and Jatayu who died while trying to protect the dignity of a woman.
The kidnapping of Sita projects Lakshmana in a totally different light. His maturity in dealing with complicated situations with extreme delicacy leaves one awestruck. Clearly Lakshmana ends up winning many hearts. Giving hope and encouragement to his brother, he escorts him southwards as indicated by the weeping animals of the forest. From the beginning of this book, Rama has been nudged by different forces to slowly edge towards the southern direction, the strong hold of the rakshasas clan. The final hint comes through the simplicity of Sabari’s love.
The book ends at a cliffhanger when Rama and Lakshmana come across someone who appears to be someone else…


Links to buy already released book of RAMAYNA - THE GAME OF LIFE series :



About the Author:

Shubha Vilas, a spiritual seeker and a motivational speaker, holds a degree in engineering and law with specialization in Patent Law. His leadership seminars are popular with top-level management in corporate houses. He also helps individuals deal with modern-life situations by applying the teachings of the Bhagavad Gita, Ramayana and other dharmic traditions.






Monday, 16 November 2015

SPOTLIGHT : The Legend of Parshu-Raam

About the Book:


  • THE LEGEND OF PARSHU-RAAM

  • Paperback: 240 pages
  • Publisher: Penguin Books India (18 November 2015)
  • Language: English










Read an Excerpt:
He was the guru of Bhishma Pitamah…
An avatar of Vishnu but a disciple of Shiva…
And he shall be the martial guru of Kalki, the last Avatar in this Yuga!
When the Chandravanshi emperor Arjun begins expanding his empire to cover the entire world, the Asuras hit back with an insidious plan. Caught in the crossfire is Raam, the son of rishi Yamdagni and scion of the Bhargava clan.
Will the machinations of Asura, Naga and Urag tribes affect the Brahmin boy and his family? Will the political intrigues of Nabhi-varsh let Bhargava Raam find his destiny or push him towards a future he never envisioned?
This is the story of a man who rose to the level of divinity to establish a fair and just society; the story of the making of a legend...





Book Your Copy from following Link : 



Stalk Links:


About the Author:

Vineet Aggarwal is a doctor by qualification, manager by profession and artist by temperament. Born in a family of doctors, he successfully completed an initial stint with the family occupation before deciding to venture into pharmaceutical management. He pursues writing as a passion and is an avid travel photographer as well. His literary repertoire extends from politics to poetry and travel to terrorism but his favourite genre remains the amalgamation of science and mythology. He is the author of the popular online blogs Decode Hindu Mythology and Fraternity Against Terrorism and Extremism. He has previously written Vishwamitra. This is his second book.

Sunday, 15 November 2015

Dream Castle





Dreams are the memories of the soul. We all have a dream that makes us one in a million. No one before has ever been us, no one in centuries will ever be like we are.


It takes courage to stick by your dreams. for you have to keep up equilibrium with your passion,loved ones and society. Beware of these people who dream with open eyes. They are the ones who will cheat on their fears and doubts just to marry their dreams.

Dream Castle will take you to a journey of passion, experiences, strengths and assorted hues of life. Revive and relish this stimulative, rousing compilation of short stories and be inspired to hold your grounds. 



BOOK DETAILS :

Title: Dream Castle
Edited By: Kavya Shah & Akash Rumade
Genre: Ficton
Publishers: Ridzee 
Price: INR. 175
Goodreads Rating : 4/5

BOOK REVIEW :


* Possibly we don't have a book but we all often hold a short story  *

Usually Novels appeal me but after reading this book I'm always going to be game with Short stories .The suspense, which is created while going through the storyline does not fade away due to the sheer length of the text or mere exaggeration of a particular set of events  as might be the case with a novel !
Every short story is designed perfectly with an altogether different plot and the manner in which the authors portrays their stories with a unique style of delivering which makes the reader start considering himself an integral part of the theme while he is going through the sequence and this engagement further intensifies the random thoughts and emotions linked with different characters of the story to the extent that you start associating yourself with them.  Sometimes the endings are in a way mocking coupled with light humour arousing the “Aahaa !” expression from the reader.
"Dream Castle " is a spell bounding collection of short stories . 20 stories from 20 different authors gives an insight of pain , humor , fun and of all emotions .Book with " The Guardian Angels " in which a the protagonist is suffering from an  emotion turmoil but then an unknown fellow change her life patching smile on her face .Some of the stories are really heart-aching like Anecdote ,The Knack of Present while collection also hold one of the fun tale by name of " The New Beginning " in which Protagonist elevates 'cause of his dream to meet Deepika Padukone .Isha Sharma's " Dream it , Destiny will Follow " counts among those lil stories which asuures the reader to dream , act and finally let non-belivers say ' Wow, Finally you'd done it "
There are many other heart warming, humorous and mind boggling stories in the book, which would surely rejuvenate you and would be a welcoming break from daily monotonous chores. So this book is recommended to all short story book lovers out there


" I knew that this is just the beginning , before reaching to the table I looked towards the sky and smiled . "

Dream Castle  is available at following Online Store


  

This is Not a Paid Review ! I received this Book as a Review Copy from Author Paradise & The opinions expressed in the review are my own , and remain unbiased and uninfluenced . "



                                                                            - Rahul Rai Khatri




Friday, 13 November 2015


About the Book:




Gabriel is weary, hunting for a murderer.
Patience is adrift, her life a complete lie.
Nate is scared, hiding from his worst fears.
Juliet is frantic, her time is running out.

As four fragile lives collide, the truth is finally revealed.

And betrayal and death become inevitable.






Book Links:
GoodreadsAmazon KDP * Amazon Paperback * Barnes & Noble * KoboiTunes

Read an Excerpt: 

Lake Tranquil was vast.  So much so that Patience couldn’t see where it ended or began.  Despite its size, it was deserted.  She was the only human in sight and she loved the thought of being so alone, immersed in the beauty of nature.  An occasional bird flitted in and out of the trees, or swooped down to land at the water’s edge.  In the distance, a rabbit ran through the trees, its tail bobbed, flashing white as it ran for cover.
Trees lined craggy mountains that surrounded the lake.  They were thick, green and tall, and reached to the shoreline; only a small wavering line of pebble-covered beach sat between the shimmering waters and the forest.  

It was heavenly. 

It wasn’t the first time Patience had been to Lake Tranquil.  Once, as a child, she had visited it with her mother and enjoyed a week of blissful freedom away from the chaos of life.  Now here, fleeting memories flooded back.  Swimming in the lake as her mother sat on the deck and read.  Running through the trees playing hide and seek, and sitting on the shore as the sun set.  Watching the stars appear overhead as her mother cooked fish over a smoky fire.  It was a time in her life that stuck in her mind, when her mother had been truly happy and content. 

It was why Patience was here. 

For her mother.To try to be closer to her, to try to understand her.To try to find some peace.
 

About the Author:
Chrissie lives in Devon, UK, with her husband and is a freelance Production Coordinator working in the TV, documentary and film industry.
Chrissie is also an Author.  Her thriller Integrate was released in October 2013 and her historical fiction Among the Olive Groves was released in July 2014.
Other written work includes factual articles for the Bristolian newspaper and guest articles for the charities Epilepsy Awareness Squad and Epilepsy Literary Heritage Foundation.  Chrissie has also written a book of short stories and poems, one of which was performed at the 100 poems by 100 women event at the Bath International Literary Festival in 2013.

Chrissie is passionate about Ancient History, Archaeology and Travel, and has completed two six-month Archaeology and Egyptology courses with Exeter University.   She is learning to play the Ukulele and likes to read, collect books, listen to music. To find out more about Chrissie visit her WEBSITE


Stalk Links:
Blog * Facebook Group * Facebook Page * Twitter * Pinterest * Goodreads

http://b00kr3vi3wtours.blogspot.in/2015/11/tourannouncement-temperance.html

Monday, 9 November 2015

~SPOTLIGHT~


What's Your Story 





           BLURB
"Captivating tête-à-têtes... conclusive sales pitch... impressive business plans... successful job interviews... exciting presentations... they all involve people. 
Your triumph or failure, here, is a function of how deep your impact was. 
For a storyteller, creating an impact can be as easy as striking a conservation, but for those unaware of this prowess it can be as difficult as putting a man on moon. 
People around the world have been increasingly using stories to mesmerize and influence their audiences. 
Storytelling is not a science, it's an art. Only and only practice can help you master it. 
'What's Your Story' delves into the world of stories and offers key mantras of storytelling to the readers. 
A must read for budding managers, entrepreneurs, engineers, leaders, authors and CEOs. 
'Next time you want to create an impact? Go ahead, tell a story.' 

Grab Your Copy From HERE 

About the Author :

Born and brought up in Kanpur, Sankalp is a MBA Graduate from NMIMS, Mumbai. An entrepreneurial soul with an imprint of a perfectionist, he is a workaholic who believes in turning every single moment of life into something more constructive and fruitful. 
He is a person who holds his parents above all, especially his mother. All his dreams and aspirations are driven by one belief--that of making his parents proud. 
His earlier works with the pen, in the form of 'Because…Every Raindrop is a HOPE' and 'When I Found You, I Found Myself' has resonated loudly with his readers. With his third book, 'Hackster' he has ventured into a new genre where his contemporary and provocative self, comes alive in a sci-fi thriller. 
On a professional front, Sankalp is a Self-Driven Management professional and a storyteller with over four years of managerial experience and around 4 GB of stories from the corporate world. His success in the corporate world is a direct function of his storytelling skills. 
When out of office, he is mostly chasing his dream of creating an impact in the world. He has a strong belief that, writing and storytelling, if understood properly, can act as a very powerful tool for budding engineers, managers and entrepreneurs of India. An Ex-speaker at IIMs and IITs, he has conducted various highly interactive events and seminars on 'How to Lead with a Story' and 'The Art of Storytelling' in colleges across India. 
He is currently working on a venture which aims at making use of stories in teaching. Armed with the thought of bringing about a change in the education industry of India, he continues his uphill journey with profound faith.

Sunday, 8 November 2015

Know your Author : Amisha Sethi



I love the warmth and unconditional giving of Indians for their family and friends.  "





Rahul : what leads you to write ' It Doesn't Hurt To Be Nice '  ? Did you enjoy writing it ? Would you write another ?

Author : We all have purpose in life. I realized my purpose in life is to be a better human being with each passing day and this strong urge to take this message to millions in a fun and entertaining way, triggered me to pen my debut book "It doesn't hurt to be nice"
I enjoyed every word of writing my book, in fact every word is from the bottom of my heart. I think this is the most meaningful work of my life :-)!!!

Yes I am penning my second book which is on soul mates and touches the beautiful nuances of love but with hilarious twists and turns. It is called "Love is simple but why Men are so complex"



Rahul : Would you kindly debrief about ' It Doesn't Hurt To Be Nice '  for all those who yet to taste your book ? 

Author : ‘It doesn’t hurt to be nice’ is a Life discovery saga with sprinkles of humour and drama.  I have made an attempt to spread the message of kindness, love, happiness and being beautiful inside out using dramatic and hilarious experiences of the character ‘Kiara’. It’s a first of its kind book where teachings of ancient scriptures and global philosophers are transcended in the simplest of form so that it can reach millions of young people in a fun and entertaining way.

Quick snapshot of the story:
It is a story of Kiara. Kiara is a dynamic, thirty-something girl who has reached great heights professionally, and is the apple of the eye for almost everyone who knows her. But she never took any short cuts to become happier, wiser, healthier and more compassionate. She had to find rays of hope where the dark tunnel seemed unending, and identify shade in life’s burning path. She found little pearls of wisdom in chasing her dreams, in spreading laughter, in learning from scriptures and philosophers, and even at one point in almost ending her life.
More than Kiara’s story and the wisdom she achieves through the various dramatic and hilarious experiences, this book is a motion picture with you in the lead role. You as the ‘hero’ who can beat the most stubborn of villains – most of which lie deep within us…our fear, unkindness, selfish interests, negative thoughts and jealousy. You as the ‘heroine’ who is sharp and witty in talking, selfless and caring in love, and charming and beautiful inside out, like none other (perhaps a 2.0 version of you). Walk with Kiara to find a better you, because It Doesn’t Hurt to be Nice.





Rahul :  What challenges you face while writing ' It Doesn't Hurt To Be Nice '  ?


Author : I was working full time at a senior position in a multinational firm, and hence taking out dedicated time to pen the book was difficult. Also I did tons of research while penning this book. I visited ancient sites of India, studied sculptures and also all kinds of ancient scriptures.



Rahul : What else you want your readers to know ? Consider here your liked &

dislikes , your interests and hobbies , your favourite ways to
unwind-whatever comes in mind .


Author : I love every moment of my life and try to give my best shot at whatever I am doing. I love to paint and dance as well. I am professionally trained in various dance forms like Salsa, Zumba, contemporary, Jazz and fusion. I am fitness freak and do run at the least 3 kms per day!



Rahul :  Give us three " Good to know " facts about you . Tell us about your

first job , any fun detail you like to share 

Author : 

  • I live by the day. No regrets and no crazy desires. Just simply live to achieve my ultimate purpose to be a good human being and beautiful inside out
  • My first job was at Airtel, where I joined as a management trainee in 2002. I and my colleagues used to hang out like crazy in Delhi. We used to enjoy the delicious paranthaas near Vikram hotel to crazy party times in Noida. 
  • I simply love watching movies of all kinds. There was a time when I saw 4 movies shows in a day with my gang of friends.


Rahul :  What are the favourite books to give- & get- as gifts ?


Author : I would love to gift my own book to all my friends and family. And beyond my book, it will be Eckhart's "Power of Now"


Rahul :  What are your 10 favourite books & why ? What was the book that
influenced your life & why ?


Author : My all time favourite books are:
Khalid Hosseini's 'The kit runner'
Upanishads
Yoga Vashishta

The book that has influenced me the most is Upanishads. The transcending values and wisdom of kindness, pure heart and mind, soul searching and love is timeless and absolutely life changing.




               
Rahul :  What are you reading right now ? 


Author : I am reading Yoga Vashita right now.


Rahul :  What do you love the most as the citizen of India .


Author : I love the warmth and unconditional giving of indians for their family and friends. 


Rahul :  who do you look to and read these days for ideas and inspiration ?


Author : I look at my own experiences and understanding of life for ideas and inspiration. 

Rahul : Does the Character ' Kaira ' is inspired by someone you know in person ? 

Author :The Character is inspired by own self realizations in life.



Rahul : Few months back  our beloved Former President Dr. APJ Abdul kalam's sudden demise shook everyone in India . Nation mourns for his great son . Had you ever met President Kalam ? How President Kalam inspired you ?


Author: No I havent met Mr. Kalam, though I would have loved to meet him. He inspires me as he seems to be a great person by mind and heart. A very good human being.




Read Book review of It Doesn't Hurt to Be Nice HERE




Saturday, 7 November 2015

Voices of the Silent Creek

    Silently Violent Debut !!!




BOOK DETAILS :

Title: Voices of the Silent Creek
Author: Vikkas Arun Pareek
Genre: Ficton
Publishers: Nivasini Publishers 
Price: INR. 199
Goodreads Rating : 4/5

BOOK REVIEW :

First of all congratulations to author on such an amazing debut & applause for Hemant Kumar for an awe-inspire sketch on front cover . 'Voices of the Silent Creek ' is a well written bitter truth of position of Women in rural India . Plot is set in countryside of Rajasthan & revolves around Shanti , daughter of a poor farmer who was married to the son of a Sarpanch where she was brutally assaulted . Shanti's husband was in love with some other , so usually never reside with her . With time passed , Bhano , Shanti's sister , also came across the futility of patriarchy . Beside it another story that runs in parallel is that of Arti who was in love with her professor . And events turned into a manner that both the stories collide and let the reader glued to very end .
Author has beautifully bolted the characters in the plot . Shanti , main protagonist for most part of the story , is portrayed as the princess of her family but marriage change her life forever . Bhano is embedded as a lady of strong will who stood for what she belived in  . Bheem Singh , Shanti's father-in-law is described as a typical uneducated filth for whom getting the heir is important forgetting the basic moral values . Parshuram , Bheem Singh's elder son , is true blood of his father and is shown physically assaulting women .Mano Bhabi , Parshuram's Wife , who lost 3 babies has mood swings which sometimes made her shanti's hope and other time becomes reason of another scar . Krishna , Bheem Singh's youngest son , is against all gruesome incidents but also a coward for not having guts to go against his family .
Arti is portrayed as an intelligent girl belonging to a well placed family from Delhi and fell in love with Amol , son a kind businessman .

With this story author has tried to highlight the social evils existing in many villages in India where Women are beaten and people commit barbaric acts just for the fake prestige of family . Author had also depicted how Police officials behave in biased manner as per the financial status .
But I found some incidents hard to digest like : If  Bhanu's story was aired on Tv , but still the culprits got bail . After , what happend to Arti and her family , Bheem singh was also out on bail .
So ' Voices of the Silent Creek ' is a fun read pulling social evils in the reader's mind .


Voices of the Silent Creek  is available at following Online Store


  

This is Not a Paid Review ! I received this Book as a Review Copy from Author & the opinions expressed in the review are my own , and remain unbiased and uninfluenced . "



                                                                            - Rahul Rai Khatri