Wednesday, 29 July 2015

BHENDI BAZAAR







BHENDI BAZAAR



BLURB

" 1982. Three teenage girls planning a flight from the Soviet Union to the West end up being sold in Mumbai's red-light area instead. The murders start a quarter of a century later. The victims are all men. All of them tricks, waiting for trysts with high-class escorts. DCP Rita Ferreira is quick to recognize the serial-killer strain; the media isn't far behind. The news sends shock-waves through the city. The first serial killer in living memory of Mumbai is out on the streets. As Rita grapples to establish the killer's pattern through Bhendi Bazaar, the killer gives her 24 hours to stop the next murder. Can she do that before she becomes the next victim? "




Bhendi Bazaar was an entertaining & tightly woven tale read with multiple surprises , I buzzed through it in 24 hours . The Book moves at a quick pace with solid dose of tension and thrills , and keep me wondering how story going to turn out . With flawless writing , Author successfully managed to keep the twists and climax till the very last page . After reading this spell-bounding crime thriller , Author Vish Dhamija to me is the Audi of the Crime Thriller Market in India .
The plot is set in a manner to put brain in top gear while flipping the pages . Bhendi Bazaar revolves around the a police detective DCP Rita Ferreira chasing an intelligent serial killer . Author has deeply pencil down the character of the main protagonist . Rita is portrayed as a sharp and equable officer with a voice that never betrayed her emotions ,her coffee brown eyes were known to be as quick to capture as a high speed camera shutter with wide angled view . A police officer who drinks , lived on coffee and works better than any male counterpart . Plot rolls out with the phone call to DCP Rita alerting about a murder of Adit Lele who was found dead without any clothes and lay in a pool of blood . Initially murder is investigated as a homicide but further killing with very much identical manner flagged up the scenario of a Serial Killer in Mumbai . And with it starts the crispy journey of twists and turns . on some stances it felt as probability of finding the killer is not any greater than crossing the Atlantic in a a paper boat . Investigation of DCP carries out in 2007 , beside author has embedded a different story line staring three girls who landed in India for Asian Games in 1982 but never returned back to Soviet Union . Plot goes in a manner that both stories inter-wind with pages . 


Beside the main protagonist , author deserves an applause for bolting side characters in an interesting way . Commissioner is nickenamed as Sexy who demonstrates his lexicon pompous prick which fills the space of humour on regular intervals . Joint CP Vijay Joshi is also portrayed in a mannered way .


Author has successfully fulfil his social duty by Pouring some important issues like   : 


* Author has put words as a strong coffee which left the taste of Serial Killer's Ideology .
* How world of prostitute is shown as a dark underbelly that no dared to talk about . 
* How police officials works 24x7 , 365 days in year to keep the city safe but citizens never rise to praise them .
*How in India standard operating procedure are so ill that police needs to patch court orders to Mobile companies to zeroed down the mobile telephone coordinates of Culprits .
*Author has maturely flagged how immaturely electronic media of this nation handle any crisis . Opinioned stories are printed or shown to public . 
* Author has also highlighted situations under which girls are dragged to the grey world of Prostitution
*In the very initial of the Story , author feed with " Brain Drain " situation which is drains the bright future of Nation's development .
*How lawyers twisted the misery of victims into ambitions , evil desires for making some extra cash .


And the only situation with me on this piece is the fact that It should be stretched to some more pages and that's because , I'm loving the plot with reading .
So Bhendi Bazaar is a Must Read Criminal Fiction  !





BOOK DETAILS :

Title: Bhendi Bazaar
Author: Vish Dhamija
Genre:  Crime Thriller
Publishers: Rumour Books India
Price: INR. 250 

BHENDI BAZAAR  is available at following Online Stores



This is Not a Paid Review ! The Opinions expressed in the review are my own , and remain unbaised and uninfluenced . "


                                             - Rahul Rai Khatri

Saturday, 25 July 2015

LOOKING FOR ALASKA

Flooded with Childhood Memories ........






Poignant , funny and heartbreaking , this novel will stay with you forever


Looking For Alaska is piece with Terrific narration which broke the long stood dam of childhood memories . 271 pages book walks the reader through the exquisite painful joy of living and loving . Some themes covered in the book are friendship, love, loss, the afterlife, guilt and denial. 

The plot of this début work of John Green holds Miles Halter , Alaska Young , Chip Martin as the main protagonist . Miles is portrayed as an introvert who lived a simple life in Florida who moved to a Boarding School in Alabama where he share his room with Chip Martin aka Colonel . Chip is the game planner of every action in the school and that's why codenamed as Colonel and is my character in the whole story . He placed Miles under the codename " Pudge " .Chip was the character I grew most attached to during this novel. Alaska is portrayed as a gorgeous , clever and screwed up girl who met Miles through Chip .Alaska enjoys sex, drinks and smokes excessively.She was quick to ask  about Miles and The Colonel's life, but very rarely would she share her secrets.
Plot is narrated by Miles in First Person and basically rolled out with Miles moving in new Deboarding school where he share some joyful moments ( True Childhood Moments ) of his life . And In-spite of Chapter Numbers , Story pulls with Day number before and after the incident that deviates everyone's path in the story as of the readers .
John Green has beautifully crafted the essence of Finding the  " Greater Perhaps " and also put how all the religions share in common about the end . Author also flagged  with portraying Alaska who is in consistent search of "How will we ever get out of this labyrinth of suffering?" . Author has stressed on Friendship . What true Friendship is and what the true friends do , act in a way to make the memories to live forever . 
But I think , I found the book bit slow and a little disappointed because its not as pacy as The Fault in our Stars is . But ..... A good and Must read for Teens .


" If People were rain , I was drizzle and she was a hurricane "

BOOK DETAILS :

Title: Looking For Alaska
Author: John Green
Genre:  Young Reads
Publishers: Harper Collins Publishers
Price: INR. 299 

Looking For Alaska  is available at following Online Stores



This is Not a Paid Review ! The Opinions expressed in the review are my own , and remain unbaised and uninfluenced . "


                                             - Rahul Rai Khatri

Thursday, 23 July 2015

WORK OF FICTION DEDICATED TO MIGHTY INDIAN AIRFORCE


"As soon as the CO Dinesh Singh got confirmation that two of his Choppers were down and prior the pilots had confirmed the course of destruction and blood shed by Pakistani Patrolling Forces , he barked the command to dispatch Echo 1 immediate effectively . Within 5 minutes of CO's Order , a Su-30 MKI was
airborne to carry out a Search & surveillance operation for the coordinates where the controller lost contact from Choppers . Scorching through the sky at Mach 2 , 8 minutes later Echo 1 reach in sight of coordinates and a minutes later Echo 1 confirmed the downed choppers and the flames erupting in the village , caused by Pak Patrolling party for sure. Dinesh Singh ordered Echo 1 to had a quick visual on the LOC . The Indian pilot pushed the nose of the Su-30 MKI in a course above the rocky terrain causing it to move at more than 1300 miles per hour and knowingly penetrated the LOC to have a quick view of the Base probably from where the Butchers were dispatched but in seconds Echo 1 found the anti missile alarm ringing , and a standard protocol is initiated with releasing flares to deviate fired missiles from the aircraft and moving back to Indian Airspace . Out of blue Echo 1 was ordered to stay in air and join Echo 2 and Echo 3 and launch an offensive attack on the Pak base . " Dispatch those butchers to hell . How can they massacre our citizens . Justice has to be done " were the words of Dinesh Singh listened in for few  seconds by all three pilots and 3 minutes later Echo 1 , Echo 2 and Echo 3 fly in attack position and empty the load from their bay . 23 Air To Ground missiles were launched and in few seconds , enemy base was vanished . " 


                                                      - Rahul Rai Khatri

Wednesday, 22 July 2015

1st Job & Ten Mistakes


Dad Talks .......


Flipped the first page and realised that the the lessons are narrated in First Form &  author is talking as Dad in India do  about handling finances which I found too necessary in anyone's life .
So 1st Job & Ten Mistakes  is a short 46 page Self- Help book which holds some very very important lessons that one should need to remember while pursuing his/her first job . Applause for author for putting all the ideas together in one book that ensures best possible ways to workout on Finances . As the name suggest , Author highlighted the 10 situations arise or we let them arise while pursuing Ist job . First Job is every person's dream job which bring financial freedom to the person but being hot blood generation we expand more than we earn or take the money on grant or take job on grant , thinks about fulfilling needs of present forgetting to save for future . Author has also highlighted how one fall in the trap of EMIs & Loans , How credit card also turns out to be devil if not used well &  Loan for a Loan is suicidal .
So in short its a must read especially for Newbies ,  who are schedule to fill up in a company as their Ist Job . Actually all these lessons are given to me by my dad on regular intervals since 2nd Year of college so I'll call it " Dad-Talks Book "

" First job is the foundation .The more we spend here to make the base , the stronger will be our foundation . And only stronger foundation can lead to Successful Career ." 



BOOK DETAILS :

Title: 1st job and 10 Mistakes
Author: Uttam Kumar 
Genre: Self Help
Publishers: Authors Ink Publication
Price: INR. 100

1st Job and 10 Mistakes  is available at following Online Stores




This is Not a Paid Review ! I received this Book as a Review Copy from Author Paradise & The Opinions expressed in the review are my own , and remain unbiased and uninfluenced . "





                                             - Rahul Rai Khatri

Monday, 20 July 2015

Monday marks 46th anniversary of Apollo 11 moon landing

WHEN NEIL ARMSTRONG APOLOGISED TO INDIAN PM INDIRA GANDHI


" That 's one small step for a man , One giant Leap for mankind " - Neil Armstrong 

Today Years ago Humans walk on Moon . A big leap , awe-inspiring moment that was . Thrashing the barriers of atmosphere , a human first stepped on a soil of moon .Neil Armstrong and Buzz Adrian became the first of humans to had a moon walk . Unfortunately Three (Not sure) years ago on Aug 5 ( I'm sure about Date) when Armstrong died 😞 And then I stumble into a report which declares about the world tour of moon walkers to India .The former
foreign minister K. Natwar Singh, who led the astronaut into Indira Gandhi’s room in Parliament when he visited Delhi after the landing , said:"Mr Armstrong, you will be interested to know that the Prime Minister kept awake till 4.30am, so as not to miss the exact time of your lunar landing. Armstrong replied: “I apologise for the inconvenience we caused you, Madame Prime Minister. Next time, I shall make sure that we land on the moon at a less unearthly hour. "





SOME HISTORIC MOMENTS OF JOURNEY OF HUMAN TO MOON : 


APOLLO 11 SATURN V ROCKET LAUNCHED








APOLLO 11 CREW : The Official Apollo 11 Crew Photo from 1969 features ( From Left to Right ) Neil Armstrong , Michael Collins & Buzz Aldrin .




The Image was taken from the telecast of the event watched by over half a million people .





Neil Armstrong took this picture of Buzz Aldrin showing a reflection of Aldrin's Visor of Armstrong and Lunar Module 


An image of Buzz Aldrin in fine - grained surface of moon .


Astronaut Buzz Aldrin prepares Science Experiments on Moon's Surface .



APOLLO 11 astronauts left this plaque on the moon commemorating their historic landing . The Sign reads " HERE MEN FROM THE PLANET EARTH . FIRST SET FOOT UPON THE MOON JULY 1969 A.D. WE CAME IN PEACE FOR ALL MANKIND " 



APOLLO 11 took this Picture 









" Copyrights of the images used above are reserved to NASA "

                                                               - Rahul Rai Khatri

Sunday, 19 July 2015

SPOTLIGHT : Dance with the Billionaire






I didn’t want a man in my life. I thought love was for losers, and all I needed to be happy were my friends and my dancing. 

But then, one Friday night, a gorgeous arrogant playboy called Dylan Campbell came crashing into my life and changed everything. 

At first I hated him. I thought he was a spoiled, entitled asshole. And he was – at least at first. But then he turned out to be so much more than that, too. Because he taught me who I really was – awakening desires inside me that I didn’t even know existed.

He taught me about love and life, and maybe I taught him a few things, too. And now everything has changed. Because now he owns me completely ...

From the author of the Taming Blake trilogy comes this brand new standalone novel about an aspiring dancer and the playboy billionaire who captures her heart. Due to a number of SMOKING HOT scenes of an adult nature, this novel is only suitable for those aged eighteen and older ...




                         





Pre-Order Dance with the Billionaire  at following Link


  Dance With the Billionaire @ Amazon.com

  Dance with the Billionaire @amazon.co.uk


Biography of Author : 


" Charlotte Eve was born to English parents and grew up in New York. She returned to England to study, and has settled in London, where she loves the history, the culture and the tea. Maybe not the rain though. Charlotte still visits New York as often as she can, to shop until she drops.

To be first to find out when Charlotte publishes something new, just drop her a line at: charlotteeveromance@gmail.com and she'll add you to her mailing list! Also, she just loves getting emails. ;) "



                                                                      - Rahul Rai Khatri


FROM WHERE I SEE








Ajay meets his childhood friend Shruti on a social network site. He finds her to be struggling with intrapersonal, interpersonal, inter-social and inter-religious conflicts. Eventually the conflicts killed her. Police could solve the case but will it prevent hundreds of Shrutis from getting killed? How long will we aim ‘who’ killed, more important is to find out ‘what’ killed. Till we don’t address this issue and work on it, many Shrutis will keep on getting killed. We need to cure the disease not only the symptoms. 
This book is an effort of the author to find the root cause and probable remedies of these conflicts, exploration of hundreds of pertinent questions like “why in one religion it becomes so easy to get volunteers to blow themselves and others for the sake of religion? Does the religion divides or unites? What precipitates extramarital affairs? Does the immature and wrong interpretation of female emancipation the reason for 13 times rise in divorce rates in last 5 years? It’s not only a book; it’s the path to revolution, it’s a journey towards utopian world. Accepting truth and hypocrisy is the toughest job on this earth. If you feel that you are open minded, have courage to accept truth and have a desire to change the world then be the part of change. Let’s take our first step to build a road to the utopian world. Visit- www.fromwhereisee.com 


Big Bang Of Philosophy & a Knowledge Hub !!!


After Very long time , Read a book which is truly written for mature-reading . Author has done ample research prior putting down which makes it a must read . Truly unexpected from an Indian Author , this book reveals astronomical information about the topics that are discussed with incomplete-knowledge .With this masterpiece , author has clearly showcased how how we are extremely self-absorbed that we can't see things from other's point of view .
Plot hatched with Dr. Ajay getting grilled in the Police Station by Maliciously witted police officer Om Prakash . His Childhood Friend was found dead & Ajay was made one of the suspect as she had met him , a night before & story rolls out with Ajay's past including his childhood in village and then meetings with his best friend Shruti . Whole plot is written in first person as Ajay and Author had depicted him as a Philosopher who believes that there are always two sides of everything as the Name of Book suggest " From Where I See " . Honestly , a well-boggling Plot embedded with philosophies ,  Stories and ideas with stats . Author has tabled numerous ideas ranging from Power Generation Situation in India , Corruption situations , Land Acquisition , Indo-Pak , Palestine-Israel , Social Networking and so many issues that People from different communities discuss on their Dinner Tables or Shoots out in News Channels but with the Point to view to attain maximum TRP .Author has successfully flowed the message how People always talk about making strict law for corruption which will diminish the steadily growing corruption but forgets that no bill or law can brings a radical change as their inner conscience .
4/5 for this book & Only fact that declined me giving 5/5 is because I found the theology bit more than expected in some stances like even while having coffee , Author depict protagonist talking as a philosopher . Who talks philosophy on meeting his best friend after 22 years ? Otherwise Book is really Yum ( Foodie's Term )
In Short , its a must read and especially for those who are expecting to be interviewed in any office because the book is a encyclopaedia package on some very basic but important issues that I think can be taken up any where ! And ofcourse highly recommended to the YOUTH OF INDIA  .


" No bill , law or chastisement can bring a radical change as our inner conscience can "

BOOK DETAILS :

Title: From Where I See 
Author: Ajay Yadav
Genre: Ficton
Publishers: lifi Publications.
Price: INR. 300

From Where I See  is available at following Online Stores


  


This is Not a Paid Review ! I received this Book as a Review Copy from Author Paradise & The Opinions expressed in the review are my own , and remain unbiased and uninfluenced . "





                                             - Rahul Rai Khatri


Friday, 17 July 2015

3 @ a time




"Falling in love is one of the most exquisite feelings that one can experience in their lifespan. But what if while searching for your true soul mate, you end up having that "exquisite feeling" for three people at the same time.
3 @ a time is the story of Deepankar and his tryst with trust, love, relationship, betrayal and humiliation with 3 girls at the same time along with maintaining his reputation as the wonder boy of his college.
Deepankar- Strong, laborious; with a never-say-die attitude while searching for true love ends up in a relation with three girls from his college...
Notorious yet dedicated for his deeds at college, Deepankar seeks love from his dream girl who turns out to be Homosexual!
And then destiny plays its game...
And the reason - GIRLFRIENDS...
But one should never back down and nor did Deepankar; Pooja stood by him in full support.
And In the End...
It does matter...
Will the search for his soul mate be completed after his rendezvous with all the 3 girls?
Will Deepankar restore his faith in others or will life throw curve balls at him?
Will he be able to maintain his reputation or will be hailed as a onetime wonder? "


Classy Debut !!!!!


3 @ a Time is a MBA college based story written in First person by the protagonist Deepankar describing his tenure in the college and numerous affairs with girls . Book is the debut work of author and the Protagonist is portrayed as a Philander , Can say a Play Boy who is extremely popular in college and had relationship with so many , literally , so-many girls . He's portrayed as a laborious and never die attitude which keeps him popular among college crowd , either positive or negative , he's really popular . As the name suggest , 3 @ a Time , Protagonist had three girlfriends at a time in college and book revolves around the fact how he handle all of 'em on same time .

What I love most in this book is the scenario of DahiHandi where a muslim guy is portrayed as an active element in making the human pyramid which made the readers think about the Communal violence which aggravated many people during the riots , and was only started as a result of some dirty politics and was not hatred of the people . And Applause for author , for fulfilling his social duty by giving message of Religion Tolerance :)

One of the chapter begins with an interesting paragraph , which is what-reader-thinks part . Paragraph goes as "  An eye for an eye makes the whole world blind ' were the words of father of the nation MK Gandhi , but in today's world every single person believes ,'An eye for an eye makes a blind person see the world '. People believed in tit for tat and revenge is a dish , serve hot for everyone ." So I'm yet to decide which Point of view is right , MK Gandhi's or Protagonist , so till then advantage of doubt goes to MK Gandhi .

While reading what I found difficult to chew is the fact that Protagonist too much smart and handsome that a lot of girls fell on him . Beside it , Author embedded the scenario of Raging but there's no criticism of this crime which swallow many innocent lives every year . And last point which I found Negative is the name of Girls , Sound quite similar and confusing . I found it bit confusing because with every chapter I found a new girl in initial chapters .

Otherwise , its a classy debut which is filled with lot of humour and the last 50 pages are really hooking , foiling of a devious plan with the help of someone which is never expected .


Quotes from “3 @ a Time”



1. Finally she arrived and 99% of the boys turned their heads towards the stage,two minutes of her speech were the best time I ever loved someone on stage. I felt the urge to run to the stage and express my love for her. - Page 16 "3 @ a time"


2. I wondered girls were the best multitaskers and that is the prime reason for companies to hire them at managerial position. - page 22 "3 @ a time".


3. Her sweet innocent face and lush green eyes were influential enough to capture the imagination of everyone even if he was a hermit. - Page 47 "3 @ a time".


4. I realized if a girl loves a boy it's impossible for the boy to ignore her for a long time while the table turn in the exact opposite direction when a boy is in love with the girl. - Page 65 " 3 @ a time"


5. The communal violence which aggravates people is the result of dirty politics and not because of hatred between religions. - Page 69 " 3 @ a time"


6. I could see the pain in her eyes while she was confessing. That moment I felt like hugging her and saying this is the best moment of my life. - Page 79 " 3 @ a time".


7. I sometimes wonder how students of the same age think alike. - Page 106 " 3 @ a time".



8. Deepankar to Pooja - "I know we have been through extremely  turbulent times in the past and in the future too being with me is not going to give you a smooth ride, but I can promise you one thing, I would forever love you the way I do in sickness and in good health." - Page 150 " 3 @ a time"


FROM AUTHOR'S DESK  

" I am a published fiction author with my debut book. My debut literary achievement   “3 @ a time” published by Omji Publications was released on 28th February 2015. It is gathering astounding and remarkable positive reviews and rated 3.5/5 by most of the reviewers. OTTT also ranked 3rd among top 50 bestsellers on Salisonline.
I always believed in the fact that love can happen more than once in everyone’s life. However, people are too reluctant to accept such facts in reality which prompted me to bring out a story where the protagonist falls in love with 3 girls at the same time. 

I have worked as an editor for my college magazine titled Vyaktitvam during my post-graduation. I love to read fantasy, Romantic thrillers and sensual stories. Unexplored destinations excite me and I love exploring new places. I usually travel to lonely places to write and search for stories and motivations.
Next in line is a book comprising of story based romantic poems titled ‘Lonely Shadows,’ a romantic, dreamy, passionate and inspirational set of poems with fragments of tragedy and slices of betrayal perfect for everyone who has ever fallen in love.

I compose short stories too, though I am not seriously chasing that dream as of now. " 


BOOK DETAILS :

Title: 3 @ a time
Author: Dipptendu Sekhar Chakraborty 
Genre: Romance
Publishers: Omji Publishers House Ltd.
Price: INR. 140

3 @ a time  is available at following Online Stores


  


This is Not a Paid Review ! The Opinions expressed in the review are my own , and remain unbaised and uninfluenced . "



                                             - Rahul Rai Khatri